Contempler la nature peut-être très ressourcant

sa400036.jpg« All my life through, the new sights
of Nature made me rejoice like a child. »
-Marie Curie
I was sitting outside on my deck one day when I heard my
mind say: « What are you going to do, just sit and watch the
tomatoes grow? »
« No. » I said. « I’m just checking on the tomatoes. I’m noticing
that they’re a little bigger today than they were yesterday. » Nothing else. I was
at total peace. Sometimes I simply sit and stare at the waves coming in and out
at the beach, or at ripples in a pond, or leaves fluttering like tiny dancers in
the slightest breeze. I can become lost simply watching a baby or a puppy play,
a butterfly soar or a bumblebee flit from blossom to blossom.
« I’m going out to check the flowers, » I’d say to no one in particular and out I
go, studying each flower, checking for growth, or their need for water, all the
while marveling at how beautiful they are.
Rachel Carson tells us that « Those who dwell, as scientists
or laymen, among the beauties and mysteries of the earth are
never alone or weary of life . . . Those who contemplate the
beauty of the earth find reserves of strength that will endure as
long as life lasts. »
Becoming mindful of nature’s tiny details, being totally aware
with all our senses for just a few minutes, can restore balance to a scattered mind,
rest and healing to our bodies, and joy to our spirits.
Today I will take at least five minutes, more if I can,
to rest my mind and my body experiencing nature.
I will take time to get better acquainted with nature.

Photo prise dans mon jardin l’été dernier, picture taken in my garden last summer.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~