Ruth Fishel

spiritlifters
CHANGING THE WORLD ONE PAGE AT A TIME,
ONE DAY AT A TIME, ONE PERSON AT A TIME!

AUGUST, 2014 

PEACE…ONE PAGE AT A TIME

 

Dear Louise,   

 

  

Ruth

FOLLOWING UP ON FOLLOWING YOUR HEART
Years ago, when many thousands of Cambodian people were fleeing violence in
their homeland only to face starvation and disease in refugee camps in Thailand, something in me said, « I’ve got to go there, » and so I went. I knew the people and a
few of the local languages. After being there trying to assist, I returned to this country to guide intensive meditation retreats. I did not deliberate much at the time about whether or not I should go to work in the refugee camps. I felt that it had to be done,
and I went and did it. It was immediate and personal.

In year following I have done work in Palestine and Burma, in prisons and local hospitals, and with kids in street gangs. This is what I have been called to do alongside my meditation teaching. This has been my way. But it is not right for everyone. Some monks spend their lives in caves in the Himalayas ceaselessly radiating compassion for the world. Others run orphanages for children whose parents have
died of AIDS. Which is the right way? The spiritual path does not present us with a prescribed, pat formula for everyone to follow. It is not a matter of imitation.
We cannot be Mother Teresa or Gandhi or the Buddha. We have to be ourselves.
We must discover and connect with our unique expression of the truth. We must learn
to listen to and trust ourselves.

This excerpt is taken from the book, « Bringing Home the Dharma: Awakening Right Where You Are »

Laisser un commentaire

